Blue Wave Baseball is conducting tryouts for 13U and 14U teams for 7th and 8th graders for the Spring-Summer 2024 season.

Our free tryouts are held from 5:30 to 7:30 PM at OC Great Park Baseball Field 9 in Irvine MON JAN 8 for 14U and TUE JAN 9 for 13U.

All 7th and 8th grade players that are serious about preparing for high school baseball at a high level are encouraged to try out by simply contacting Steve Kruse at (949) 202-7748, or registering free at

Both 13U and 14U teams practice 2-3 times weekly and play in local scrimmages, league games, and selected tournaments throughout the spring and summer seasons.

Details on Blue Wave 14U is available HERE.

Details on Blue Wave 13U is HERE.

Blue Wave teams are coached by local high school coaches with exceptional coaching background, several have played D1 and professionally.


Established in 1996, Blue Wave is one of the oldest and most respected “non-profit” club baseball organizations in Orange County. Blue Wave teams have played 6,500+ games, won 150+ tournaments, 12 national championships, and been nationally ranked on multiple occasions.

More than 400 Blue Wave alumni have played or are playing collegiate baseball at some of the top programs in the country, including UCI, USC, UCLA, Oregon, Cal State University Fullerton, Stanford, PENN, Gonzaga, USF, University of Miami, Pepperdine, Long Beach State, Fresno State, Nebraska, Indiana, Kansas, Sacramento State, UCSB, Santa Clara, Clemson and more.

More than three dozen Blue Wave alumni have played or are playing or coaching Major League Baseball (MLB), including current Mariners Dylan Moore, Oakland A’s starter James Kaprielian, Rangers catcher Austin Hedges, Angels catcher Chad Wallach, and San Francisco Giants hitting coach Justin Viele.

Former Blue Wavers in college positions include Wes Oberlin Director of Development – Athletics at Sacramento State and Matt Florer, Assistant Coach/Recruiting Coordinator.

Blue Wavers Head High School coaches include Brett Kay (JSerra), Rich Pohle (Brea-Olinda), Bret LeVier (San Juan Hills), Jason Smith (Canyon),  Gabe Cota (Irvine), and Drew Hillman (Laguna Hills).